Fighters Only World MMA Awards 2009 Results

December 31, 2009

The Fighters Only 2009 MMA Awards were held last night in Las Vegas, Nevada, and not surprisingly Georges St-Pierre, the UFC, and Tapout came away as the big winners.

Here’s the entire list of winners on the evening:

  • Fighter of the Year: Georges St-Pierre
  • Fight of the Year: Diego Sanchez vs. Clay Guida (TUF 9 Finale)
  • KO of the Year: Dan Henderson over Michael Bisping (UFC 100)
  • Submission of the Year: Toby Imada’s inverted triangle over Jorge Masvidal (Bellator 4)
  • Special Achievement Award: Charles “Mask” Lewis
  • Best Promotion: UFC
  • European Fighter of the Year: Gegard Mousasi
  • Breakthrough Fighter of the Year: Brock Lesnar
  • Female Fighter of the Year: Cristine “Cyborg” Santos
  • Leading Man of the Year: Dana White
  • Coach of the Year: Greg Jackson
  • Ring Girl of the Year: Arianny Celeste
  • Best MMA Media Coverage:
  • Best MMA Gym: Jackson Submission Fighting
  • Best MMA brand: TapouT
  • Best MMA Clothing: TapouT
  • Best MMA Shorts: TapouT
  • Best Gloves: UFC
  • Best Journalist: John Morgan (MMAJunkie)

2 Responses to “Fighters Only World MMA Awards 2009 Results”

  1. FightCaps on December 31st, 2009 4:15 PM

    Thanks for the recap. I tuned in just in time to catch the last few minutes. Oops! =)

  2. John on January 1st, 2010 9:59 AM

    Dana would have had a heart attack if they would have given Fedor the European Fighter of the Year Award. Also, Gegard is about as European as Potatoes. He´s Iranian/Armenian.

Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.