White says UFC fans won’t miss Pacquiao fight

December 5, 2012

Dana White stated in his weekly Vlog that UFC on Fox 5 would not interfere with the Manny Pacquiao main event.  UFC on Fox 5 will air 5:00 p.m. PT/8:00 p.m. ET while Pac-Marquez IV will begin at 6:00 p.m. PT/9:00 p.m. ET with the main event starting around 9:00 p.m. PT/12:00 a.m. ET.

Although there will be at least an hour of overlap, White assured fight fans that they would not miss the boxing main event.  The PPV broadcast will start with prelim fights which most folks will not be interested in unless you are a hardcore boxing fan.

Payout Perspective:

It would be interesting if there’s a “gentleman’s agreement” for Saturday (probably not).  Of course, its unlikely Pacquiao will delay the fight this time around as one of his favorite teams, the Boston Celtics, will be playing earlier in the evening.  As you may recall, he delayed the Timothy Bradley fight as he was watching Game 7 of the Heat-Celtics.  The move is good for both UFC and boxing fans as even though the two entities will be competing for fans on Saturday, it allows for boxing and MMA fans to watch both live if they want.

4 Responses to “White says UFC fans won’t miss Pacquiao fight”

  1. Diego on December 5th, 2012 2:21 PM

    Good move by Dana to recognize that UFC fans are often boxing fans as well and many of us are interested in watching Manny fight. I usually DVR the UFC if it’s on TV anyway just so I can skip through the commercials and the idiotic between-fight commentating but this makes it easier to watch both.

  2. Chris on December 5th, 2012 7:26 PM

    manny wont be fighting while the UFC is on, boxing main events dont start until after 11pm, closer to 12am est. UFC will be over by 10:30pm the latest.

    Yes the boxing undercard will be on during the UFC and alot of people who ordered the PPV want to get their moneys worth so they watch that so that could take some viewers from the UFC but the UFC event will be over before Manny steps in the ring.

    First three JMM/Manny fights were good but I just dont have much interest in this fight, I dont feel any buzz for it.

    Sat UFC card is stacked, getting these fights on network tv is awesome.

  3. Adder on December 5th, 2012 11:59 PM

    dana trying to piggy back on the hype of a big boxing card because the sport of mma has no crossover stars.

    the funny thing is that if the UFC card has bad ratings as they tend to do these days they will blame it on the manny card.

  4. Sampson Simpson on December 6th, 2012 6:16 PM

    Dana knows boxing is the UFC’s daddy.

    Nobody in boxing is talking about the UFC fight but it sure sounds like the UFC fans know about the Pacquiao fight.

Got something to say?